Reserves in Armadale

The City of Armadale covers an area of 560 km² located about 30 km south-east of Perth city. Owing to the many local bushland reserves and water catchments, over 70% of the city is natural vegetation. These areas encompass three broad geographical divisions:

Swan Coastal Plain with the varied soils of wetlands, damplands, and Banksia woodlands along with the discontinuous Ridge Hill Shelf soils at the foot of the scarp that is sometimes included in the plain;

Darling Scarp where erosion has exposed much granite and laterite (gravel) with shallow soils around these outcrops;

Darling Plateau to the east where the uplands and valleys support Jarrah, Marri and sometimes Wandoo in the forests with Yarri along the deeper valleys.

Some of the reserves in Armadale include:

Bungendore Park ….

Settlers’ Common ….

Bob Blackburn Flora Reserve ….

Lloyd Hughes Park ….

Creyk Park ….

Forrestdale Lake ….

Stinton Cascade ….

Harrisdale Swamp ….


The Armadale Branch, in conjunction with other Environmental Groups in the City of Armadale along with assistance from the City of Armadale, have produced a booklet on 22 bushland reserves located within the City of Armadale covering over 4,000 ha of natural bushland.

In addition to the descriptions of each bushland reserve, there is information on:

  • City of Armadale environmental groups
  • Armadale flora
  • the Noongar Six Season calendar
  • threats to our bushland
  • and more…

Download the Bushland Reserves of Armadale booklet here (6MB)