Hello from Murdoch Branch Committee

2024 Committee

2024 Branch Committee L-R Christine Athanassiou, Diana Corbyn (Vice President), Lesleigh Curnow (Book sales), Felicity Bairstow, Christine Polmear (President), Kim Dravnieks (Secretary), Danielle Mathews, Mat Woods, Angela Hine and Michael Davies (inset – Treasurer)

President – Christine Polmear moved to WA 20 years ago and currently works in administration at Notre Dame University. Her interest in our beautiful native plants grew through exploring Western Australia and falling in love with our wildflowers.

Vice President – Diana Corbyn has been with the Murdoch Branch since year dot. Her interests are botany, ecology and bushland restoration. She currently represents the WSWA on the Rehabilitating Roe 8 Advisory Committee. Most of the committee were taught by Diana at some stage.

Secretary – Kim Dravnieks has been a branch member since returning from Europe over 30 years ago. With a background in IT, horticulture and community campaigning she has a passion for protecting our natural environment.

Treasurer – Michael Davies has a keen interest in native plants and works in a local government bushcare team.

Committee Members:

Media Coordinator: Danielle Matthews has taken on the role with our social media and newsletter production and introduced live streaming our guest speakers each month.

Felicity Bairstow is a key member of many environmental organisations and committees, including the Wetlands Conservation Society and SERCUL. Felicity played a pivotal role in the Save Beeliar Wetlands campaign over many years and continues to work towards their protection. Felicity is a past Treasurer of our branch.

Mathew Woods works as a senior Conservation officer at the company Landcare Weed control. Outside of Mat’s work, he has various hobbies like playing video games and gardening. Mat also really likes plants and is a past President of our branch.

Angela Hine – Angela has a background in teaching Conservation and Ecosystem Management, guiding walkers along the Bibbulmun Track, conducting remote terrestrial fauna surveys and bushland restoration.
She enjoys bushwalking and introducing others to the delights of our amazing native plants and has been a Murdoch Branch member since 2010.

Guest Speaker Coordinator: Christine Athanassiou – Christine is an Environmental Officer with a passion for conserving our natural ecosystems from microscopic fungi and native bees all the way to large Eucalyptus trees and native fauna. She enjoys learning about plants, their ecological function, and connections. Sharing this knowledge with others and adding value to our bushland.

We are a friendly bunch, always keen to see new people at our monthly talks and hear about new activities we could run at the Branch. Please tell us of any specialist subject or guest speaker you would like to hear from: murdoch.secretary@wildflowersocietywa.org.au